Advisory Board

NBS’s advisory board is composed of academic leaders and industry visionaries who provide strategic guidance on all aspects of NBS.


Michael Jantzi (Chair) Chief Executive Officer, Sustainalytics

Michael Jantzi is the CEO of Sustainalytics. He was the founder of Jantzi Research and has been active in the social investment field since 1990.

Tima Bansal-2013

Tima Bansal (ex officio) Professor, Ivey Business School, Western University and Executive Director, NBS

Tima is a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Business Sustainability, an Associate Editor of the Academy of Management Journal and has previously sat on six editorial boards.

Stephanie Bertels-web

Stephanie Bertels (ex officio) Assistant Professor, Beedie School of Business, Simon Fraser University

Stephanie Bertels is an assistant professor at Simon Fraser University’s Beedie School of Business. She conducts practitioner-oriented research that helps support organizations on their journey towards sustainability.


Vanessa Burbano PhD candidate in Management, Anderson School of Management at UCLA

Vanessa earned her BA in Economics and International Relations at the University of Pennsylvania, summa cum laude.


Karen Clarke-Whistler Chief Environment Officer, TD Bank Group

Karen is responsible for developing and implementing an environmental strategy that meets TD’s stated goal of becoming the environmental leader in the banking industry in North America.

Lisa Colnett-web

Lisa Colnett Interim Human Resources Executive, Silver Standard Resources

Lisa Colnett recently joined Silver Standard Resources as the Interim Human Resources Executive.


Peggy Cunningham Dean, Faculty of Management, Dalhousie University

She joined Dalhousie's Faculty of Management in 2009 as Director of the School of Business Administration, Associate Dean (Research) and the R. A. Jodrey Chair.


Robert G. Eccles Professor of Management Practice, Harvard Business School

Robert G. Eccles first joined Harvard Business School in 1979 and received tenure in 1989. He left in 1993 to work in the private sector and rejoined the faculty in 2007.


Bob Hamilton Deputy Minister, Environment Canada

Bob was appointed Deputy Minister of the Environment on August 1, 2012. Bob worked in the Tax Policy Branch at the Department of Finance in 1985, where he was part of the team that developed and implemented the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

Stuart Hart

Stuart L. Hart S.C. Johnson Chair in Sustainable Global Enterprise, Johnson Graduate School of Management, Cornell University

Stuart founded Cornell University’s Center for Sustainable Global Enterprise, serves as distinguished fellow at the William Davidson Institute (University of Michigan) and is president of Enterprise for a Sustainable World.

Gord Lambert

Gordon Lambert Vice-President, Sustainable Development, Suncor Energy Inc.

In his current role at Suncor Energy, Gord works with senior management and external stakeholders to align and improve the company’s long-term financial, social and environmental performance.


James Lopez President and CEO, Tembec Inc.

James Lopez was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of Tembec in January 2006. He joined Tembec in 1989 as a Manager in Corporate Development, where he was involved in strategic planning, and business and organizational development.

marc paquin1

Marc Paquin CEO, Unisféra/Planetair

Marc Paquin is co-founder and CEO of the Unisféra International Centre, a not-for-profit research and consulting organization. He is a lawyer and MBA with expertise on sustainable development and CSR management, law and public policy.


Nicholas Parker Chairman, Cleantech Group LLC, Parker Venture Management, Corporate Knights Media Ltd., WaterTAP Corp.

Nicholas is Chairman of the Cleantech Group, the market-leading research company that introduced the cleantech concept to the investment and business community in 2002, and Parker Venture Management, his private investment and advisory business.

Sanjay Sharma1

Sanjay Sharma Dean, School of Business Administration, University of Vermont

Sanjay was appointed dean of the School of Business Administration at the University of Vermont in 2011 and comes with a unique background in both the private sector and academia including 16 years of senior management experience.


Marie-France Turcotte (ex officio) Professeure, Département de stratégie, responsabilité sociale et environnementale, École des sciences de la gestion, Université du Québec à Montréal, and Director, REDD (NBS)

Marie-France is interested in corporate social and environmental responsibility and stakeholder engagement.


Ed Waitzer Jarislowsky-Dimma-Mooney Chair in Corporate Governance, Osgoode Hall Law School and the Schulich School of Business

In addition to his Chair position at Schulich, Mr. Waitzer is also Director, Hennick Centre for Business and Law, York University; Senior Partner, Stikeman Elliott LLP; and Chair, LCBO.


James P. Walsh Gerald and Esther Carey Professor of Business Administration, Stephen M. Ross School of Business, University of Michigan

James P. Walsh is the Gerald and Esther Carey Professor of Business Administration at the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business.


Ed Whittingham Executive Director, Pembina Institute

Prior to becoming the Pembina Institute's Executive Director in 2011, Ed was director of their Consulting Services group, leading the team in advising companies, governments, politicians and NGOs on management practices and strategies for sustainable energy.